Much more than

just Home Loans

What News

The one thing you can count on in the financial industry is CHANGE! With so many products, a highly competitive market, political issues, interest rate movements and so very much more, nothing ever seems to stay the same for long. To ensure that you stay up to date you need to be contacted at regular stages throughout your loan term. At Sharp  Home Loans, we like to keep in contact with our clients every 60 days ensuring they are kept up to date with what’s happening and how it is or might affect their loan. Just because we have completed your home loan, that doesn’t mean we are finished with you! We like to look at this being the start of a long and very successful financial relationship. Your financial needs and wants never stop so we are there for you throughout your journey.

Some significant changes you should know

*banks move independently of RBA

Double the First Home Owner Grant for regional Victoria

About the initiative

For contracts signed between 1 July 2017 and 30 June 2020, the First Home Owner Grant (FHOG) for regional new home purchases will double to $20,000. The increase will help first home buyers to purchase in their local community and will help support construction and employment.

How will it work?

FHOG is currently a $10,000 grant for first home buyers that purchase new homes throughout Victoria. This initiative increases the FHOG to $20,000 for regional new home purchases.

First home buyers of new homes in metropolitan Melbourne will continue to receive the $10,000 FHOG.

As with the current arrangements, the FHOG will only be available to purchases valued up to $750,000.

The increased FHOG will be applicable to contracts signed from 1 July 2017 to 30 June 2020, at which time, the Government will assess the impact of the policy on first home buyers and construction in regional area.

Who will qualify?

Table 1: regional councils where first home buyers will qualify for the $20,000 FHOG

Alpine Shire Council

Ararat Rural City Council

Ballarat City Council

Bass Coast Shire Council

Baw Baw Shire Council

Benalla Rural City Council

Buloke Shire Council

Campaspe Shire Council

Central Goldfields Shire Council

Colac Otway Shire Council

Corangamite Shire Council

East Gippsland Shire Council

Gannawarra Shire Council

Glenelg Shire Council

Golden Plains Shire Council

Greater Bendigo City Council

Greater Geelong City Council

Greater Shepparton City Council

Hepburn Shire Council

Hindmarsh Shire Council

Horsham Rural City Council

Indigo Shire Council

Latrobe City Council

Loddon Shire Council

Macedon Ranges Shire Council

Mansfield Shire Council

Mildura Rural City Council

Mitchell Shire Council

Moira Shire Council

Moorabool Shire Council

Mount Alexander Shire Council

Moyne Shire Council

Murrindindi Shire Council

Northern Grampians Shire Council

Pyrenees Shire Council

Borough of Queenscliffe

South Gippsland Shire Council

Southern Grampians Shire Council

Strathbogie Shire Council

Surf Coast Shire Council

Swan Hill Rural City Council

Towong Shire Council

Wangaratta Rural City Council

Warrnambool City Council

Wellington Shire Council

West Wimmera Shire Council

Wodonga City Council

YarriambiackShire Council